Heros…who are yours?

vt.jpegaug.jpegap.jpeg

Yes yes, Jesus is your hero. So is Paul. Oh yea, Peter is the hero you most relate to. But I’m talking ‘men and women’ not found in the Bible that God’s used in your life (think teaching, reading, example).

What say you guys. Who’s been the most influentioal in your spiritual formation (heart, mind, soul, stength)?

11 responses to “Heros…who are yours?

  1. Not too many suprises here, but my heros are as follows:

    Craig Smith – discipled me and put up with my nonsense and introduced me to grace and the beautiful doctrines surrounding it!

    John Piper – i will never forget when I found out that I was not created to be the lonely God’s buddy, but that God is for God and in being for God is for me!

    Matt King – the oof is just so intense and so driven and so solid, even though very young. I learned much from him.

    Bill Anderson – i have watched how Bill led his family and i so much want to follow him in this way. It seems to me that to Bill family was always a priority, which is more than I can say for many in ministry.

    Tim Keller – I will never forget the reformation I had one day while running in my neighborhood listening to Keller talk about the Gospel in Colossians 3. It was my road to Damascus. The chains fell off my heart that was enslaved to earning the salvation I had through Jesus. No preacher does a better job of applying the Gospel to every area and situation of life.

    Dwight Andrews – Dwight was willing to to the hard thing and speak the hard word which would regularly soften my hard heart. He was also incredibly giving. He is probably the richest dude that you would have no idea he is so rich.

    Mark Moore – my current pastor, I am continually amazed at his aptitude of knowledge and his pastoral heart

    Drue Phillips – this dude is a model of missional living. About 90 % of the people who are a part of our church came because of a relationship with Drue. He is also one of the most humble dudes I know, and he leads worship and is handsome and has a beautiful wife, but regularly cleans up his gear, cleans up the church, does the behind scenes things at the church and goes to everything our church does to serve and give to the poor.

    I know most of you don’t know these dudes, but I appreciate the opportunity to glory in these men who have lead me and glorify God because He in His love and care for me gave them to me.

  2. Luther & Calvin: Their lives of devotion to Christ, their tireless work ethic, and their hearts for their people only increase my admiration of their thought.

    Lewis & Tolkien: Their view of the world and the worlds they created bring me great delight, and how they met the challenges of their age in Europe as Christians sets a wonderful example to emulate.

    Karl Barth: I know I’ll get in trouble for this one, but for all his errors and (like Luther) his sharp tongue, he has shown me what deep theological devotion to Christ can be like. Reading Romerbrief, the Dogmatics and his essay on Mozart was simply moving.

    D. A. Carson: I guess I like the guys who are abrasive to most, but Carson is my most vivid example of passion with care, of doing excellent work for and in the Church. I know without a doubt that he’d both die for an essential truth of God’s revelation as well as die for preaching sweet grace to his flock (just as his father was imprisoned).

  3. Ohhhhh, my turn. This is fun. And I don’t care if I get in trouble…my crazy eclectic list is only proof that ‘good’ theology (whatever) hasn’t been my only worth while influence. (of course, I’ve spent years working a lot of the crap out too…deal with the dialectic till we get to heaven, suckas)

    Bo & Mike Celenze…cause we were as heretical as they come, skating in church, poaching on chics (or at least thinking we were (don’t say it justin), and spreading the gospel with spray paint, BUT, this kid was the first to tell me about Jesus. (thank God it didn’t stop there)

    Matt King…I agree with J-Ed. King took my sorry but out of the liberal lions den (the Academy), the pseudo charismatic feel-a-thon, and a whole ton of hypocrisy, to set my feet on a semi solid rock. Not to mention, who else can I laugh like that with…TBN = comedy central for those with no cable.

    My dad…cause he never let me believe anything easily. He’s the reason I love philosophy and learning. So much for his modern presuppositions, no on to some good wine.

    Greg Bahnsen (or Van Til, or Frame, or Plantinga, or J. Anderson…on and on). I chose Bahnsen cause Richter and I are planning on starting a Baptaterian theonomy ;). NO. Bahnsen can have his ethics (I’ll take Kuyper-Kline…haha). BUT, when I was at a point of hating myself, near death confusion…when it was either the self-death of Christ or the murder of Nietzsche, Dr. Bahnsen saved me by demonstrating the consistency, clarity, and certainty of the Christian worldview. I know he was laden with crap, but man, that Bahnsen VS. Stein debate may have been when I got saved…or another conversion (like Augustine). Any of my favorite VanTillian pimps would work, even VT himself, but the first time I ever heard the Atheist worldview annihilated was from the humble lips of Dr. B. That is a moment this doubting thomas will never forget.

    Lastly, Horton & Frame, since they’ve both kicked my butt, in separate states, when I’ve needed it. They are two of the most humble men I’ve ever known and super willing to fight for God’s glory in the sphere of both cult and culture.

  4. Martin Luther King Jr.
    Gandhi

    and all others who fought for the goodness of humanity to shine through without fighting.

  5. St. Patrick and his Celtic Bros. – These guys were the ultimate missionaries. They were just tough people with integrity who would go to the scariest areas. They would conquer viking nations through humble service. If you ever have a chance to read up on St. P. Do it.

    Augustine/Pascal – their words just resonated with in me. Passion, thought, beauty combined. They also taught me rhetoric. The way I speak to people has totally been shaped by who they were and how they communicated.

    Bruce Waltke- I have never had a prof as great as him and I have had some good ones. (i.e. D.A. Carson, Pratt, Frame, ….) I have never met someone who knows the word as much as he does but who is also as saturated by it as much as he does. Just hanging out with that elder sage you get sanctified by Osmosis.

    Lastly, Pastor Curt Heffelfinger- He is my current pastor. He is hands down the best pastor I have ever had. I have never met someone so humble who loves the Glory of God so much. He prays unbelievable amounts for his people. I have never felt so loved by a leader in my life. He has done nothing but believed in me and guided me in wisdom. Although my ministry might look different when I leave my church, I don’t think I will ever be half the minister he is.

  6. In NO particular order:

    Ritchie McKay and Scott Didrickson-God used these two men in my life to bring me to Christ.

    Matt King- OOF, yes, He challenged me when I was a young open (unknowingly) theist, and also developed me in a way that I now hold the position he made “famous” at The Well(a bit dramatic yes)

    My Dad-Always came running to his runaway son to welcome him home.

    Ryan Kelly-helped me see the pain and ugliness of my sin

    John Piper and C.J. Mahaney–> 2 of the greatest living pastors for young men to imitate and learn from

    Calvin and Sibbes–> old dead guys sometimes say it best!!

  7. Dave Bartlett – gave me my first worship gig and kicked my cocky butt when I was 20.

    Enrique Ochoa – Crazy mexican youth pastor who taught me how to be real

    John Piper – Calvinist revolution

    Jesse Bradley – gave me a passion for evangelism

    many more… can’t think right now.

  8. Mark Hamilton, the former associate pastor of Montrose Baptist Church, where I was saved– this dear brother helped me “get started” in evangelism, spent a good bit of time with me during some VERY rough periods of my life, and showed great grace and patience with me as a baby Christian.

    Mark Dever, Michael Lawrence, Matt Scmucker, Papu Sandhu, and the whole team of elders at Capitol Hill Baptist Church– these men taught me the whole counsel of God in a careful, faithful, and exciting (because it is was/is true!) way, they applied said counsel to our lives in powerful ways in their preaching and teaching, and they helped me to learn, and see by example, Biblical manhood lived out in thoughtfulness, service, and standing for truth.

    David Reid– a dear friend who proved to me, in college, when I was still unregenerate, that not all professing Christians were self-righteous jerks– that God really does work in those who are his, and that Christians actually could, and should, be genuinely loving to non-Christians.

    A.W. Tozer– because his book, The Pursuit of God, left me breathless with wonder and shaken with conviction at God’s “Godness” and my “non-Godness.” It shook me up and changed my way of thinking about many things.

    John Piper– for showing me that joy is an indispensable part of the Christian life.

    Cornelius Van Til– for working to forge a more carefully Biblical apologetic than was commonly known or used at the time, as far as apologetic models go– AND for being unafraid and caring enough to do street preaching, when he could have comfortably written books and stayed within the walls of the academy! A model for all theological geeks, and Christians in general!

    J.I. Packer– for writing Knowing God. Nuff said! 🙂

    The Puritans in general– because they had a high, deep, and inherently humbling view of God that I want to have. I have heard that some of them also stained the floor with their tears when they prayed for the lost. I think that the first sentence and the second sentence here are inextricably tied together– which is why I long to think as these men and women did!

  9. First and foremost, I would have to say the 505 crew. It’s easy to be a Christian out here (and damn near impossible at times), but out there, it’s real. And God used each of you (Schnee, King, Richter, there are so many more I will digress now).

    Second. John. Friggin. Owen. I love this guy. So much love and adoration for Christ! Regarding the glory of Christ he wrote “Herein would I live; — herein would I die; — hereon would I dwell in my thoughts and affections, to the withering and consumption of all the painted beauties of this world, unto the crucifying all things here below, until they become unto me a dead and deformed thing, no way meet for affectionate embraces.”

    So yeah, there are others, Bonhoeffer has affected me alot lately, and you gotta rock out the Piper, bringin’ the Word every Sunday.

  10. George Whitefield

    Describing one of his open air preaching engagements:
    “There I was honored with having stones, dirt, rotten eggs, and pieces of dead cats thrown at me.”

    That’s my kind of preacher.

    If you’ve never read about the death of this great preacher, check this out:

    An eye-witness has given the following striking account of this closing scene of Whitefield’s life: ‘He rose from his seat, and stood erect. His appearance alone was a powerful sermon. The thinness of his visage, the paleness of his countenance, the evident struggling of the heavenly spark in a decayed body for utterance, were all deeply interesting; the spirit was willing, but the flesh was dying. In this situation he remained several minutes, unable to speak. He then said: ‘I will wait for the gracious assistance of God, for He will, I am certain, assist me once more to speak in his name.’ He then delivered perhaps one of his best sermons. The latter part contained the following passage: ‘I go; I go to a rest prepared: my sun has given light to many, but now it is about to set–no, to rise to the zenith of immortal glory. I have outlived many on earth, but they cannot outlive me in heaven. Many shall outlive me on earth and live when this body is no more, but there–oh, thought divine!–I shall be in a world where time, age, sickness, and sorrow are unknown. My body fails, but my spirit expands. How willingly would I live for ever to preach Christ. But I die to be with him. How brief–comparatively brief has been my life compared to the vast labours which I see before me yet to be accomplished. But if I leave now, while so few care about heavenly things, the God of peace will surely visit you.’ ‘

    After the sermon was over, Whitefield dined with a friend, and then rode on to Newbury Port, though greatly fatigued. On arriving there he supped early, and retired to bed. Tradition says, that as he went up-stairs, with a lighted candle in his hand, he could not resist the inclination to turn around at the head of the stair, and speak to the friends who were assembled to meet him. As he spoke the fire kindled within him, and before he could conclude, the candle which he held in has hand had actually burned down to the socket. He retired to his bedroom, to come out no more alive. A violent fit of spasmodic asthma seized him soon after he got into bed, and before six o’clock the next morning the great preacher was dead. If ever man was ready for his change, Whitefield was that man. When his time came, he had nothing to do but die. Where he died there he was buried, in a vault beneath the pulpit of the church where he had engaged to preach; His sepulchre is shown to this very day; and nothing makes the little town where he died so famous as the fact that it contains the bones of George Whitefield.

  11. I’m reading Luther’s “Comfort for the Sick and Dying” this AM for class, and here is one more reason I love the man. To his own father who was sick, he wrote:

    “If it is his divine will that you should postpone that better life and continue to suffer with us in this troubled and unhappy vale of tears, to see and hear sorrow and help other Christians to suffer and conquer, he will give you the grace to accept all this willingly and obediently. This life, cursed by sin, is nothing but a vale of tears. The longer a man lives, the more sin and wickedness and plague and sorrow he sees and feels. Nor is there respite or cessation this side of the grave. Beyond is repose, and we can then sleep in the rest Christ gives us until he comes again to wake us with joy. Amen.”

    After this letter, his father died 3 months later, upon which he wrote to Melancthon:

    “This death has cast me into deep mourning, not only because of the ties of nature but also because it was through his sweet love to me that my Creator endowed me with all that I am and have. Although it is consoling to me that, as he writes, my father fell asleep softly and strong in his faith in Christ, yet his kindness and the memory of his pleasant conversation have caused so deep a wound in my heart that I have scarcely ever held death in such low esteem.”

    I pray I can feel like Luther felt one day.

Leave a Reply

