You know your bible right? I guess you’ve never read KLINE>>>DAWG

Ok, so the visceral wording of this title is nothing more than a cheap shot to encourage further reading BUT…I do mean it in a sense. Personally, Meredith Kline has opened up so many beautiful doors to the truths of scripture and its outworking in the Kingdom of God. Love him or hate him, Kline makes you think (its true uri ;)). In honor of this great brother’s recent passing, I’m posting a series of lectures on his main Biblical Theological syllabus, Kingdom Prologue. They’re free, so download and get stoked:

http://www.amoskeagchurch.org/broadcastindex.php?dir=./sermons/Granite%20

State%20School/Meredith%20G%20Kline/Kingdom%20Prologue

On another note, Lee Irons, a Kline lover like myself (hey thugs, I love frame and Bahnsen too, so take the meat, leave the bones, and put away the labels)…has a good word on ST and BT:

http://www.upper-register.com/blog/?p=188

2 responses to “You know your bible right? I guess you’ve never read KLINE>>>DAWG

  1. christopherlake

    Thanks for the Kline links, Greg. I may be a Baptist, but I’ve learned so very much from God-gifted Presbyterians that it almost convinced me to become one myself! 🙂 Speaking of which, do you know much about Gordon Clark? If so, could I send you a question or two about his thought, via e-mail?

    About the post on systematic and Biblical theology, I agree with Lee’s point that we need to the Biblical “system” as it actually is, with verses in context, and not ripped out of context for a pre-conceived theological grid. I also agree with Lee that the Bible’s system is not mainly “a timeless set of propositions.” Having said that, the alternative that Lee offers, that the Bible is “God’s self-revelation in Christ,” is itself a propositional statement, and a timeless one. Does this statement really cover what the Bible is, though, as a complete whole? I’m not sure. In humility (I hope and pray), I submit that it might be more accurate to say that the Bible is the self-revelation of the God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and the true story of His plan for His people, to bring Himself glory, throughout time and eternity. Perhaps all of this is covered by Lee’s statement about the “unfolding drama of the Kingdom of God.” Again, I’m not sure.

    Basically, what I’m trying to say here (perhaps not very well) is that I think the current focus, in Reformed circles, on Biblical theology as being the necessary contextual “informer” of systematic theology, is a very, very good development. To say, though, that the Bible is not mainly “a timeless set of propositions”…. well, in one sense, I agree, and in another sense, I question the overall helpfulness of the wording. If one took all of the the timeless propositional statements out of the Bible (which, of course, no true practitioner of Biblical theology wants to do), there would be very little text left, period. This does not mean that the Bible’s system is necessarily *itself* a timeless set of propositions. However, I do wonder why some Biblical theologians seem zealous to promote the narrative aspect of the Bible, while seemingly *under-emphasizing* the fact that the Bible is absolutely filled with with propositional statements that are eternally true (such as that Christ is the Son of God, and God Himself incarnate in flesh). Maybe I’m misreading these theologians– I hope so. Maybe the emphasis on narrative, and seeming de-emphasis on propositions, is an over-reaction to the domination of systematic theology in Reformed circles for so many years? If so, then it’s understandable– but over-reactions are still over-reactions. I hope that I’m just misunderstanding some of the statements in the ST-BT “debates”– which, to me, don’t even really need to be debates. Both disciplines are crucially important. I’m thankful to Lee for recognizing that fact.

  2. christopherlake

    In the first sentence of the second paragraph, I meant to write that “we need to *see* the Biblical ‘system,’ as it actually is…” Sorry for leaving out that word! 🙂

Leave a Reply

